Stars such as Nerney, Purcell and Barry take top honors as Laois GAA awards are announced

The Laois GAA have announced the winners of the prestigious GAA awards for 2022. A total of 18 different clubs will be represented at the ceremony on November 18 at the Midlands Park Hotel. Mark Barry and Paddy Purcell win the County Player of the Year awards after their strong performances for their respective clubs and county in 2022. Let us know what you think of the selections in the comments

Barry was a standout performer in the blue and white of Laois as they retired in the first round of the Tailtean Cup at the hands of Westmeath. Barry was also instrumental in helping his club O’Dempseys reach the Senior Laois Championship final.

Purcell was one of the few regular performers for the Laois pitchers. Cheddar Plunkett’s side were relegated to Joe McDonagh after a disappointing championship. Rathdowney man Errill also won a phenomenal club championship, but his side fell short in the semi-finals.

County man Paddy O’Sullivan has been chosen as the Club Soccer Player of the Year. His performances for Portarlington have been nothing short of outstanding. The wingback has energy beams and is ultra-reliable. O’Sullivan will hope his side can continue their run at Leinster when they face Paletine next Sunday in Leinster’s senior quarter-final.

Darren Maher won the club pitcher of the year award. Clough Ballacolla’s man was a rock in the last line of defence. Maher and Co. are yet to be seen in Leinster as they await their opener against Dublin champions Kilmacud Crokes.

On the ladies’ side, Timahoe and Laois star Mo Nerney won the LGFA award. If Timahoe has had a very good run in the Laois championship, you have to imagine that it was Nerney’s exploits in the blue and white Laois jersey that earned him this award. A true contender for TG4 Intermediate Player of the Year, Nerney was absolutely phenomenal as Laois Ladies won the All Ireland Intermediate Championship. Nerney scored 5-31, which was a mile ahead of everyone else and earned him the Golden Boot award.

Jessie Quinlan won first prize for camogie. Quinlan was an integral part of the St Brigids side that claimed glory in the Laois Intermediate Camogie Championship. The Rathdowney-based club are also enjoying a strong Leinster campaign after beating Wexford champions Olygate Glenbrien last weekend. Quinlan will hope she and her teammates enjoy continued success when they face Kilkennys James Stephens in the next round.

15 other awards will be presented in the evening. These include Dylan Kavanagh of Heath (Intermediate Football), Enda Rowland of Abbeyleix (Premier Intermediate Hurling), Mikey Dowling of Portlaoise (Junior Football), Canice Coonan of Clough Ballacolla (Intermediate Hurling), Matthew Collier of Camross ( Junior B Football), Declan Phelan of Abbeyleix (junior hurling), Sean Dunne of Rosenallis (junior B hurling), Jeremy Kelly of St Joseph’s (minor football), Jer Quinlan of Borris Kilcotton (minor hurling), Karla Whelan of Naomh Eamann (junior camogie), Grainne Delaney of Camross (Minor Camogie), Kieran Brenan of St Josephs (Hall of Fame), Paddy Phelan of Castletown (Referee), Chloe Keenan of Emo (Rounders), Andrew Dowling and Tomas Lennon of St Brigid’s Handball Club, Monavea) and Michel Martin de Ballinaill (Scor).